A quaint rural village (population about 200) at the base of the glorious Swanfels Valley, Yangan offers unique examples of late 1800s timber architecture.
Previously named Upper Swan Creek, the town became known as Yangan in 1887, an Aboriginal word thought to mean moving forward or upwards. The small settlement began to grow as a result of the first stage of railway development between Killarney and Warwick.
The town is rich in rural history and was one of the original locations of free settlement in Queensland. Sandstone was quarried near Yangan and sent to neighbouring Warwick and used in the construction of its magnificent historical buildings including the Town Hall and Police Station.
Yangan Masonic Hall (‘The Temple with the Long Stairs’) was previously the first School of Arts building (c.1898).
Mick Bradford’s Heavy Horse Day is an annual event showcasing live farming techniques from the 1800s and 1900s. Dates vary — contact the Warwick Visitor Information Centre.
Stop in at the Yangan Hotel for a drink and chat with the local farmers.